2015 Vestry Nominees

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Vestry Nominating Committee has submitted to the Vestry the following slate of Parish Members who are eligible and willing to serve three-year terms as Vestry Members to take the place of those Vestry Members whose terms will expire at the January 2015 Annual Parish Meeting:

Marge Freeman

Marjorie Freeman, MD has been a member of St. Margaret’s since 2012. She has been active as a Lector and is on the Pew Crew. She also participates in Education for Ministry, and the Ministry for Justice and Compassion. She is a retired physician, who specialized in Diagnostic Radiology.



Meredith Hardy

Meredith Hardy, MSW, JD has been a member of St. Margaret’s since 2012. She has served on a number of committees at St. Margaret’s including the Telephone Ministry, Book Club Facilitator and Stewardship Campaign. Meredith has practiced Family Law for over 20 years. She was an Adjunct Law Professor at two Schools of Law. Earlier career activities include clinical social work with youth, and directorship of mental health programs. 


Samantha HirschSamantha Hirsch has been a member of St. Margaret’s for 41 years! She has been a Choir member, and acolyte, and Eucharistic Minister, and serves as a Verger. She is currently an Office Specialist with Desert Sands Unified School District, and has worked with the District for 25 years. Samantha also is a Club Advisor and Athletic Coach at La Quinta High School.


David Strom

David Strom has been a member of St. Margaret’s for six years. His career has included over 28 years in the Airline and Cruise Industries. Also, Dave has worked as a forensic social worker and mitigation specialist. He has served as a Eucharistic Minister, Lector, and Verger at St. Margaret’s. He also has served as a Vestry member including Senior and Junior Warden roles, at Episcopal Churches in Seattle, WA.


The Rector, Wardens, and Vestry give thanks for the hard and fruitful work of the Nominating Committee: Sue Shigenaga (chair), Kay Adamson, Don Baker, Eva Myers (outgoing Vestry) , and Ed Thayer.

A detailed Position Description and eligibility requirements for Vestry Members is available here, along with a detailed description of the nomination process and selection criteria.

The Vestry is the council of St. Margaret’s Episcopal Church. In addition to transacting the temporal business of the church, the vestry works with the Rector, under the Bishop, to lead the congregation in the ministries of the church. Following the model of servant leadership, each member of the vestry is responsible for the effectiveness of our ministries, shaping and guiding them for the growth of the people of the congregation, and for our mission to the community beyond our walls. Members of the Vestry are also committed to personal growth as leaders and to ministering to one another in Christian community.

Other individuals may be nominated from the Parish Membership at large, provided the proposed names have been submitted in writing to the Clerk of the Vestry, Rose Hernandez, no later than Sunday, January 4, 2015. No nominations may be made “from the floor” at the Annual Meeting.

The election of new Vestry Members will be Sunday, January 25, 2015 at the Annual Parish Meeting following the 10 a.m. Eucharist.

Last updated: September 10, 2018 at 19:37 pm